Mission: to seek and share inspiration


Prokofiev + Cello Majesty

December 04-05

Program and Description

Acclaimed cellist Alisa Weilerstein returns for a weekend celebrating two remarkable 20th-century Russian composers and featuring the exciting CSO debut of conductor Karina Canellakis.

Alisa Weilerstein, “Yo-Yo Ma’s heiress apparent as sovereign of the American cello” (New York Magazine), is a recent recipient of the MacArthur Genius Grant. She returns to Music Hall to play Shostakovich’s Concerto No. 1, an intense and dramatic work that is by turns introspective and energetic. Prokofiev’s rousing and enormously popular Symphony No. 5 brings these concerts to an exhilarating conclusion.

Due to an unforeseen visa issue outside of his control, guest conductor Rafael Payare has had to withdraw from this weekend’s CSO performances. The CSO appreciates Congressman Steve Chabot and his office for their attempts to resolve this matter.

Please note conductor and repertoire change.  Due to this change, guest soloist Alisa Weilerstein will now be performing Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto No. 1,  on the first half of the program (replacing Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto No. 2). 




SHOSTAKOVICH: Cello Concerto No. 1

PROKOFIEV: Symphony No. 5

On Dec 4-5 visit our Music Lab in the lobby from 6:30-8:00 pm and learn about the science behind the sound of string instruments. We'll have dissected strings and instruments for you to see up close, so come curious! Also enjoy special pre-concert performances by the Cincinnati Young Artists Cello Choir in the lobby at 7:30 pm each night.



Subscribe to the Ascent Series to receive ticket discounts!


Venue: Music Hall

1241 Elm Street Cincinnati, OH 45202

  • parking225.jpg


  • seatingchart225x225.jpg

    Seating Chart

  • dining225x225.jpg


  • tickets225x225.jpg

    Ticket Discounts

You may be interested in: