October 25-26, 2019 | Music Hall

No longer on sale

Sometimes it takes an outsider to point out what's great about a culture.


Francisco COLL: Hidd’n Blue [U.S. Premiere]
FALLA: Nights in the Gardens of Spain
DVOŘÁK: Symphony No. 9, From the New World


Gustavo Gimeno, conductor
Javier Perianes, piano


Music Hall

Ticket Prices


Concert Duration

About 1 hour, 40 minutes with intermission


This concert is part of Series 2

What's Interesting

  • One of the world's most beloved orchestral works, Antonin Dvořák's New World Symphony is, at its heart, an immigrant story.
  • "Sometimes it takes an outsider to point out what's great about a culture." Dvořák (pronounced dvor-zhahk) did just that when he came to the U.S. at the end of the 19th century, "an immigrant thrown into a new world and new sounds." Read NPR's take on this iconic music. 
  • While Dvořák mused on America, Manuel de Falla was inspired by Spain and the vast gardens at Alhambra palace. His Nights in the Garden of Spain will come alive in the hands of guest pianist Javier Perianes, "one of the greatest of his generation" (Buffalo News).
  • The U.S. premiere of a miniature 4 1/2 minute piece, Hidd'n Blue, by Francisco Coll (b. 1985) opens the program.

Explore our Spotify playlists for this concert and for the entire season