UNLIMITED COLOR: Bolero + Rouse Premiere

October 18-19, 2019 | Music Hall

Ravel's Bolero and the birth of a new symphony by Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Christopher Rouse.


RAVEL: Bolero
LALO: Symphonie espagnole
ROUSE: Symphony No. 6 [World Premiere, CSO Commission]

CSO Commission made possible by Dianne and J. David Rosenberg



Louis Langrée, conductor
Guy Braunstein, violin, artist-in-residence


Music Hall

Ticket Prices


Concert Duration

About 2 hours with intermission


This concert is part of Series 1

What's Interesting

  • Playing Bolero’s famously repeating melody for a friend, Ravel once asked, “Don’t you think this theme has a certain insistent quality?”
  • The music of Pulitzer- and Grammy-winner Christopher Rouse is a master of “explosive and passionate” orchestral writing (The Baltimore Sun).
  • Lalo’s showpiece premiered around the same time as Bizet’s Carmen and inspired Tchaikovsky to write his own violin concerto.

Explore our Spotify playlists for this concert and for the entire season