January 29-31, 2021 | Music Hall

No longer on sale

Pianist Kirill Gerstein plays with “uncanny delicacy and gnashing power” (New York Times) as he joins the CSO in its triumphant return to public performances.


GEORGE WALKER: Folksongs for Orchestra

DMITRI SHOSTAKOVICH: Concerto No. 2 in F Major for Piano and Orchestra

ZOLTÁN KODÁLY: Galántai táncok (Dances of Galánta)



Louis Langrée, conductor

Kirill Gerstein, piano


Music Hall

Ticket Prices

From $14

Concert Duration

Approximately 75 minutes with no intermission

What's Interesting

  • Welcome to Music Hall! This emotion-packed concert weekend marks the CSO’s return to live public performances. The concerts will be socially distanced and limited capacity, and will adhere to all safety protocols.
  • Dmitri Shostakovich’s Second Piano Concerto was written as a birthday gift to his son, Maxim, in 1957. Fun fact: Maxim conducted the CSO on two occasions.
  • Walker’s Folksongs for Orchestra explores the moving melodies of four African American Spirituals.
  • Kodály’s Dances of Galánta is a virtuosic orchestral gem that highlights dynamic range starting slowly then building into frenetic, roaring energy.
  • As part of our commitment to access, $10 first-timer and Pay What You Wish tickets are offered for the Fri/Sun performances by calling 513.381.3300. Student Access tickets are $15 and available through online checkout.

Watch It At Home
This concert will also be livestreamed at, the CSO's YouTube channel and the CSO's Facebook page on FEB 26 at 7:30 pm. View the CSO & Pops Digital Concert Series page for more details.