May 14-16, 2021 | 2 pm & 7:30 pm | Music Hall

No longer on sale

Conductor Ruth Reinhardt leads the CSO in a colorful season finale.


SERGEI PROKOFIEV: Symphony No. 1 in D Major, Classical

GRAŻYNA BACEWICZ: Concerto for String Orchestra

FELIX MENDELSSOHN: Symphony No. 4 in A Major, Italian


Ruth Reinhardt, conductor


Music Hall

Ticket Prices

From $14

Concert Duration

Approximately 75 minutes with no intermission

What's Interesting

  • We’re so glad to have you back at Music Hall! These in-person concerts will be socially distanced, limited capacity and will adhere to all safety protocols. In light of the CDC's recent updates to COVID restrictions and protocols, we’re writing to confirm that in accordance with their recommendations, we continue to follow state and local COVID safety protocols for our Music Hall performances. All guests will be required to use masks when attending a concert at Music Hall through June 1, 2021. 
  • Conductor Ruth Reinhardt is “an incisive musician of real depth” (The Dallas Morning News) and has quickly grown a reputation for her musical intelligence, programmatic imagination, and elegant performances.
  • Prokofiev’s Classical Symphony, composed without a piano to express “more transparent orchestral colors,” derives its nickname from the composer’s wish that one day the symphony “might itself turn out to be a classic.”
  • Grażyna Bacewicz’s Concerto for String Orchestra is explosive and sweeping, commonly regarded as her magnum opus or even her “Ninth Symphony.”
  • Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 4 recounts the composer’s time in Italy, evoking the vast Italian countryside and interpreting traditional Italian dance music in a whirlwind finale.