February 19-21, 2021 | 2 pm & 7:30 pm | Music Hall

No longer on sale

Musical worlds collide and amplify one another in a lively, jazz-inspired escapade.


DARIUS MILHAUD: La création du monde ("The Creation of the World")

ANTHONY DAVIS: Litany of Sins

JOHN ADAMS: Chamber Symphony

LEONARD BERNSTEIN: Prelude, Fugue and Riffs


Louis Langrée, conductor


Music Hall

Ticket Prices

From $14

Concert Duration

Approximately 90 minutes with no intermission

What's Interesting

  • We’re excited to welcome you to Music Hall! The concerts will be socially distanced and limited capacity and will adhere to all safety protocols.
  • Milhaud’s ballet music, The Creation of the World, uses elements of jazz (with its roots in African musical expression), to relay the creation story from African folk mythology.
  • Pulitzer Prize winning composers, Anthony Davis and John Adams are recognized for their influence on contemporary orchestral works.
  • Anthony Davis, perhaps best known for his operas, incorporates jazzy syncopation and rhythm into his Litany of Sins, “a graceful yet energetic work” (New York Post).
  • Bernstein’s Prelude, Fugue and Riffs started as a commission for a big band and includes solo clarinet, 5 saxophones, 4 trombones, percussion and more.
  • Among the influences in John Adams’ Chamber Symphony are the music of Schoenberg and scores from cartoons watched by his son Sam.

This concert is part of the MAC (Multicultural Awareness Council) concert series.