APR 20 & 21, 2024 | Music Hall

No longer on sale

Louis Langrée leads the CSO and Grammy-winning violinist Augustin Hadelich.


Jonathan Bailey HOLLAND: Assemble (CSO Co-Commission, CSO Premiere)
SCHOENBERG: Verklärte Nacht (“Transfigured Night”)
BRAHMS: Violin Concerto


Daniel Wiley, conductor

Augustin Hadelich, violin


Music Hall

Concert Duration

Approximately 103 minutes, including intermission


Saturday Evening C & Sunday Afternoon

What's Interesting

Schoenberg's music, before he became known as a father of 20th-century 12-tone composition, developed from the harmonic bedrock of Romantics like Brahms, Mahler and Richard Strauss. His "Transfigured Night" was further heightened when Schoenberg met the love of his life and found inspiration in poetry of hope and acceptance. Led by Louis Langrée, the CSO performs this, along with Brahms' Violin Concerto, which features the return of Grammy-winning violinist Augustin Hadelich, and a co-commission from former CSO Composer-in-Residence Jonathan Bailey Holland.

Please note: Music Director Louis Langrée has suffered an injury due to a fall yesterday and will not be conducting the APR 21 CSO program, Hadelich & Holland. Assistant Conductor Daniel Wiley will step in to lead the Orchestra in his CSO debut. The pre-concert talk with Wiley has been cancelled to accommodate for the conductor change. The program will remain intact.

View Digital Program

New Works Social

Join us post-concert at the foyer bar to grab a drink, mingle with others, and chat about how you experienced the new work. We’ll provide conversation starters, and possibly even a chance to meet with the composer and other musicians if they’re present. No need to reserve a spot, just show up!

Learn More

Pre-concert Talk: Daniel Wiley
The pre-concert talk with Wiley has been cancelled to accommodate for the conductor change.

We believe that great music is for everyone, regardless of your budget. This concert is eligible for Pay What You Wish Pricing, as well as other discounts. To learn more visit Music for All.