CSO PROOF: The Meta Simulacrum Vol. 1

Sun May 2, 2021 | 8:00 pm EDT | Digital livestream
Watch free through May 3 at 8 pm

 A collective memory of the future.


A Liquid Music production, commissioned by the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, and presented by The Great Northern, Walker Art Center and CSO


Members of the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra
William Brittelle, creation, composition, text, performance
Isaac Gale, filmmaker, editor, photography

Kate Nordstrum, creative producer

Patrick Marschke, project management, text editing, sound mixing


Performances & Additional Composition:

Holland Andrews, vocals
Rafiq Bhatia, guitar, production
Ian Chang, percussion, production
Erika Dohi, synth, harpsichord, production
Chris Fishman, keys, production
Jackson A. Hill, bass, production
Will Johnson, vocals, visuals, void

Channy Leaneagh, vocals, narration, movement
Immanuel Wilkins, sax
Constellation Chor, voice, movement:

Marisa Michelson

Kalli Siamidou

Luisa Muhr

Jen Anaya
Roomful of Teeth, vocals

Caroline Shaw, soprano
Virginia Warken Kelsey, alto
Thann Scoggin, baritone
Cameron Beauchamp, bass

Andrew Garman, narration
Robert. J. Frakes, narration


Digital livestream

Ticket Prices

Free for first 24 hours, $15 on demand afterwards

Concert Duration

Approx. 90 minutes


CSO Proof

What's Interesting


“Brittelle has been drawing from his varied experiences in classical music, punk rock, and electronica to produce silo-bombing music that is at once free-ranging, formally adventurous, unconventionally beautiful, and a joyful thrill to experience.” —The Nation

Using the symbology of our shared past to look forward into an uncertain future of climate change, machine sentience, and the ever-expanding cyber universe, this extraordinary collective debuts the first material generated through the Meta Simulacrum, an interdisciplinary, alternate-reality digital platform designed by composer/producer William Brittelle. This uniquely collaborative project draws from modern classical, jazz, neo-soul, vaporwave, and experimental rock worlds with recontextualized elements of ’80s sound, with each collaborator contributing core content. This retro-futuristic musical landscape is supercharged by the visionary work of filmmaker Isaac Gale and editor/computer coder Patrick Marschke. The Meta Simulacrum Vol. 1 serves as an elegy for a lost future, and a de facto embrace of the strange, surreal times ahead.

CREATIVE CONVERSATION: Watch the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra’s Nate Bachhuber and composer William Brittelle explore the creation of The Meta Simulacrum Vol. 1. View the video.