No longer on sale


March 1-2 | Music Hall

No longer on sale

Experience the Kaleidoscopic light of orchestral showpieces, from Dvořák’s Witch to the pull-all-the-stops brass of Janáček’s Sinfonietta.


DVOŘÁK: The Midday Witch
STRAVINSKY: Concerto for Piano and Wind Instruments 
SUK: Scherzo fantastique 
JANÁČEK: Sinfonietta


Sir Mark Elder, conductor
Peter Serkin, piano


Music Hall

Ticket Prices


Concert Duration

1 hour 50 minutes


Series 2

What's Interesting

• The CSO welcomes legendary English conductor Sir Mark Elder to the podium.
• Inspired by Czech lore, The Midday Witch tells of a witch’s promised visit when bells strike noon.
• Stravinsky’s pronouncement that “strings and piano…do not sound well together,” leads to the unusual winds-only setup of Concerto for Piano and Wind Instruments.
• The spectacle of Janáček's Sinfonietta, with its company of 25 brass players, should be seen as much as heard.