JAN 24 & 25 | Music Hall

CSO Principal Cello Ilya Finkelshteyn plays a spellbinding Saint-Saëns showpiece.


MOZART: Overture to The Magic Flute
Jimmy LÓPEZ BELLIDO: New Work (CSO co-commission)

SAINT-SAËNS: Cello Concerto No. 1

PROKOFIEV: Symphony No. 7


Christian Reif, conductor
Ilya Finkelshteyn, cello


Music Hall

Concert Duration

Approximately 76 minutes, including intermission


Friday Mornings
Saturday Evenings A

What's Interesting

The richness and beauty of the cello comes through brilliantly when CSO Principal Cello Ilya Finkelshteyn plays the spellbinding melodies of Saint-Saëns’ firework First Concerto. The magical evening ties-in music by Mozart and Jimmy López Bellido, each inspired by fairy tales. Prokofiev’s poignant and profound orchestral farewell provides a thrilling showpiece for the entire Orchestra.

The Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra world premiere commission of a New Work by Jimmy López Bellido is made possible by a generous gift from Kari and Jon Ullman.