April 9-11, 2021 | 2 pm & 7:30 pm | Music Hall

No longer on sale

CSO soloists shine in a program of American composers past and present.


GABRIELLA SMITH: Carrot Revolution

CHRISTOPHER CERRONE: A Body, Moving [CSO Commission, World Premiere]

AARON COPLAND: Concerto for Clarinet

DUKE ELLINGTON: Night Creature


Louis Langrée, conductor

Christopher Pell, clarinet

Robert Sullivan, trumpet

Christopher Olka, tuba


Music Hall

Ticket Prices

From $14

Concert Duration

Approximately 85 minutes with no intermission

What's Interesting

  • Welcome to Music Hall! These in-person concerts will be socially distanced, limited capacity and will adhere to all safety protocols.
  • Gabriella Smith’s Carrot Revolution, named from a quote attributed to Paul Cézanne, is a musical reaction to the unconventional way art and objects are presented at The Barnes Collection.
  • Christopher Cerrone’s path to musical composition began as “I worked my way backwards from Wendy Carlos’s electronic re-imaginings of Beethoven [from A Clockwork Orange] to actual Beethoven symphonies and became obsessed.”
  • Copland’s technically dazzling Clarinet Concerto was commissioned by “The King of Swing,” renowned jazz clarinetist Benny Goodman.
  • Duke Ellington's significant contributions to the American musical landscape include works for small ensembles to full orchestras, including his first collaboration with the CSO in 1966.

View the digital program.

Watch It At Home
This concert will also be livestreamed at cincinnnatisymphony.org/live, the CSO's YouTube channel and the CSO's Facebook page on APR 30 at 7:30 pm. View the CSO & Pops Digital Concert Series page for more details.