January 6-7, 2023 | Music Hall

No longer on sale

“The essence of Hadelich’s playing is beauty,” (The Washington Post).


ETHEL SMYTH: On the Cliffs of Cornwall


JEAN SIBELIUS: Symphony No. 2


Thomas Søndergård, conductor

Augustin Hadelich, violin


Music Hall


Series 1

What's Interesting

It’s no surprise to Cincinnati audiences that “the essence of Hadelich’s playing is beauty” (The Washington Post). Experience the inimitable violinist’s return in Britten's Violin Concerto along with esteemed Danish conductor Thomas Søndergård’s CSO debut. Themes of Sibelius’ Second Symphony coalesce into sparkling waves of sound for the work's breathtaking finale.

Book Exchange: Cozy up in the new year with a new book. Join us as we celebrate our own version of Jolabokaflod, the Icelandic holiday tradition of exchanging books with others. Audience members are invited to bring a new or gently-used book or two. Preferred book genres include: classic literature, poetry, anthologies, contemporary fiction, sci-fi, fantasy, mystery, drama, fables & mythology. Our staff will wrap each book during the concert, and after, upon leaving audience members are encouraged to take a book home with them.

We believe that great music is for everyone, regardless of your budget. This concert is eligible for Pay What You Wish Pricing, as well as other discounts. To learn more visit Music for All.

The performance of Ethel Smyth's On the Cliffs of Cornwall is made possible by a generous gift from James and Linda Miller.       

The appearance of Augustin Hadelich is made possible by an endowed gift to the Fund for Great Artists by Mr. and Mrs. Joseph S. Stern, Jr.