No longer on sale

Winstead Chamber Series

Death and the Maiden

January 19, 2024 | 7:30 pm | Wilks Studio in Music Hall

No longer on sale


BEETHOVEN: Serenade in D Major for Flute, Violin and Viola
SCHUBERT: String Quartet No. 14, Death and the Maiden
DVOŘÁK: Serenade for Winds


Wilks Studio in Music Hall

What's Interesting

“It's impossible to listen to all four movements of the quartet without an awareness of death’s shadow stalking Schubert and emerging in the most funereal passages" (Classic FM). Franz Schubert wrote his String Quartet, Death and the Maiden, near the end of his life, capturing the emotions of wrestling with mortality in a tapestry of dialogues between the players. Beethoven and Dvořák’s Serenades bookend an evening of reflection on what it means to have lived.

View Digital Program