20/21 CSO Full Season

Season tickets on sale now! Single tickets on sale AUG 4.

A HERO'S LIFE:
Strauss + Ravel

Fri Sep 18, 2020 | 11:00 am

Sat Sep 19, 2020 | 8:00 pm

Louis Langrée, conductor
Hélène Grimaud, piano

 

We open the season with two stories of heroism: Mozart’s Overture to Idomeneo and the impassioned call of Strauss’ Ein Heldenleben. Learn more.

PEER GYNT

Sat Oct 3, 2020 | 8:00 pm

Sun Oct 4, 2020 | 2:00 pm

Louis Langrée, conductor

Pekka Kuusisto, violin

Camilla Tilling, soprano

May Festival Chorus, Robert Porco, director

Bill Barclay, director, Concert Theatre Works

 

See a concert-staged production of Grieg’s Peer Gynt created and directed by Bill Barclay, the former Director of Music at Shakespeare’s Globe. Learn more.

SYMPHONIE FANTASTIQUE

Fri Oct 9, 2020 | 8:00 pm

Sat Oct 10, 2020 | 8:00 pm

Louis Langrée, conductor

Johannes Moser, cello

 

Berlioz’s macabre masterpiece sets the tone this October. Learn more.

TCHAIKOVSKY + ADOLPHE

Fri Oct 30, 2020 | 11:00 am

Sat Oct 31, 2020 | 8:00 pm

Louis Langrée, conductor

Augustin Hadelich, violin

 

Tchaikovsky’s last symphony has it all. Learn more.

BON VOYAGE PERFORMANCE

Thu Nov 5, 2020 | 7:30 pm

Louis Langrée, conductor

 

The CSO warms up for its 2020 European Tour and you're invited. Learn more.

BRAHMS 2 + RACHMANINOFF

Fri Dec 4, 2020 | 8:00 pm

Sat Dec 5, 2020 | 8:00 pm

Roderick Cox, conductor

Conrad Tao, piano

 

Rachmaninoff’s jazz-touched Concerto meets Brahms’ radiant Second Symphony. Learn more.

MAHLER SYMPHONY NO. 7

Fri Jan 8, 2021 | 11:00 am

Sat Jan 9, 2021 | 8:00 pm

Matthias Pintscher, conductor, CSO Creative Partner

Leila Josefowicz, violin

 

Mahler’s Seventh reflects the depth, mystery and shimmering light of nocturnal worlds. Learn more.

DVOŘÁK 7 + EIGHTH BLACKBIRD

Sat Jan 16, 2021 | 8:00 pm

Sun Jan 17, 2021 | 2:00 pm

Ruth Reinhardt, conductor

Eighth Blackbird

 

For Dvořák, the Seventh Symphony held music capable “of stirring the world.” Learn more.

RACHMANINOFF SYMPHONY NO. 2

Fri Jan 29, 2021 | 8:00 pm

Sat Jan 30, 2021 | 8:00 pm

Louis Langrée, conductor

Steven Osborne, piano

 

Rachmaninoff’s touching Second Symphony swirls with melodies that stay with you. Learn more.

WAGNER THE VALKYRIE

Fri Feb 5, 2021 | 11:00 am

Sat Feb 6, 2021 | 8:00 pm

Karina Canellakis, conductor

Kian Soltani, cello

Heidi Melton, soprano

Stefan Vinke, tenor

John Relyea, bass

 

The first act of Wagner’s Die Walküre is total art. Learn more.

HAYDN THE CREATION

Sat Feb 20, 2021 | 8:00 pm

Sun Feb 21, 2021 | 2:00 pm

Louis Langrée, conductor

Mari Eriksmoen, soprano

Simon Bode, tenor

Matthew Rose, bass

May Festival Chorus, Robert Porco, director

 

Let there be light—and music. Louis Langrée and the CSO set the stage for Haydn’s Creation. Learn more.

GRIEG CONCERTO + SHOSTAKOVICH 4

Fri Feb 26, 2021 | 8:00 pm

Sat Feb 27, 2021 | 8:00 pm

Juraj Valčuha, conductor

Javier Perianes, piano

 

Grieg’s Concerto is a marvel—one you’ve heard before. Learn more.

STRAVINSKY FIREBIRD SUITE

Sat Mar 13, 2021 | 8:00 pm

Sun Mar 14, 2021 | 2:00 pm

Louis Langrée, conductor

Kirill Gerstein, piano

 

Louis Langrée leads a program of musical fascinations, gestures made to take hold of the senses. Learn more.

PROKOFIEV + SIBELIUS

Fri Mar 19, 2021 | 11:00 am

Sat Mar 20, 2021 | 8:00 pm

Hannu Lintu, conductor

Seong-Jin Cho, piano

 

Shades of romanticism linger and blinding brass break like sunlight over snowcaps in Sibelius’ First. Learn more.

THE PLANETS + CERRONE PREMIERE

Fri Apr 2, 2021 | 8:00 pm

Sat Apr 3, 2021 | 8:00 pm

Kahchun Wong, conductor

Robert Sullivan, trumpet

Christopher Olka, tuba

Women of the May Festival Chorus, Robert Porco, director

 

Holst’s galactic masterwork sets us at the edge of our seats with racing, full-hearted glee. Learn more.

SHEHERAZADE3

Fri Apr 9, 2021 | 11:00 am

Sat Apr 10, 2021 | 8:00 pm

Louis Langrée, conductor

Fatma Said, soprano

 

Three Shéhérazades conjure the magic sands of Arabian nights. Learn more.

RAVEL DAPHNIS + DEBUSSY LA MER

Sat Apr 24, 2021 | 8:00 pm

Sun Apr 25, 2021 | 2:00 pm

Sir Mark Elder, conductor

Stephen Hough, piano

 

Debussy’s symphonic sketches of the sea teem with restless colors and crest at the fullest sound of the CSO. Learn more.

PINES OF ROME

Fri May 7, 2021 | 8:00 pm

Sat May 8, 2021 | 8:00 pm

Ramón Tebar, conductor

Esther Yoo, violin

 

The spectacle of Ancient Rome and the glorious sound of the CSO merge for a larger-than-life audience favorite. Learn more.

BRUCKNER 7

Sat May 15, 2021 | 8:00 pm

Sun May 16, 2021 | 2:00 pm

Louis Langrée, conductor

 

The season ends with Bruckner’s transcendent Seventh Symphony. Learn more.